Congress welcomes Ajay Maken as Generalen Secretary in-Charge of Rajasthan affairs


A big change in Congress campus was seen recently when senior party leader Ajay Maken replaced Avinash Pande as the new General Secretary in-Charge for Rajasthan.


Congress Chief Sonia Gandhi also set up a three-member committee to resolve the issues raised by party rebels in Rajasthan. 


Senior party leader Ahmed Patel, Ajay Maken and KC Venugopal have been made members of the panel.


The appointments come in the wake of a rebellion in the Rajasthan government with former Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot and 18 other MLAs revolting against Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot.


Though the rebellion was quelled and a truce reached with Pilot and the other MLAs, the party leadership has announced the three-member panel to help in the smooth resolution of the issues raised by them.


Maken was recently sent as observer by the party to Rajasthan to help resolve the differences and save the government from the possibility of losing its majority in the state assembly. He was earlier the Delhi Congress chief.


With Avinash Pande’s removal and Ajay Maken’s appointment as the new General Secretary in Charge of Rajasthan, the stage is set for the new committee to look into Sachin Pilot’s issues and concerns. Sonia Gandhi’s confidant Ahmed Patel and KC Venugopal are the other members who will try and sort out the problems Sachin Pilot faces with Ashok Gehlot.


The new decisions taken after the truce are expected to find a face saver for Sachin Pilot and a lasting solution to ensure the stability of the Rajasthan government. A change in the state’s leadership has been ruled out but with age and time on Sachin Pilot’s side, his camp says it is a matter of time before he is projected as the face of the Congress in the state in the near future.


A truce was announced after Pilot met with Congress leaders Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, who reassured him that his grievances would be addressed. Five days later, the Congress government won a trust vote in the assembly, securing itself for at least six months.