India Dominates Zimbabwe with a 100-Run Victory in Second T20 International

Spread the love

In a thrilling display of cricket, India triumphed over host Zimbabwe by 100 runs in the second T20 International held in Harare. After winning the toss and opting to bat, India posted a formidable total of 234 runs for the loss of just 2 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Abhishek Sharma emerged as the star of the match, scoring a brilliant century off just 47 balls. He was well supported by Ruturaj Gaikwad, who contributed a solid 77 runs off 47 deliveries. Zimbabwe’s Blessing Muzarabani and Wellington Masakadza managed to take a wicket each but struggled to contain the aggressive Indian batting.

In their chase, Zimbabwe faltered and were bowled out for 134 runs in 18.4 overs. Wessly Madhevere top-scored for the hosts with 43 runs off 39 balls, while Brian Bennett added a quickfire 26 runs off nine balls. The Indian bowling attack was led by Mukesh Kumar and Avesh Khan, both of whom took 3 wickets each. Ravi Bishnoi claimed 2 wickets, and Washington Sundar took one, ensuring a comprehensive win for India.

With this victory, India has leveled the five-match series at 1-1. Zimbabwe had won the opening match yesterday by 13 runs under the leadership of Sikandar Raza.

The young Indian squad, captained by Shubman Gill, features several emerging talents such as Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, and Tushar Deshpande. This series marks a new era for Indian cricket following the retirement of the legendary trio Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja from the T20 format.

The Indian team will be looking to build on this momentum as they prepare for the remaining matches of the series.

Related posts

Leave a Comment

− 5 = 4