REC, NALCO and EIL win Gold Trophies of SCOPE Excellence Awards


On the 8th Public Sector Day Celebrations jointly organised by Standing Conference of Public Enterprises (SCOPE) and Department of Public Enterprises (DPE) at Vigyan Bhawan, the Gold trophies of SCOPE Excellence Awards in the Institutional Category I (Maharatna, Navratna) were presented to Rural Electrification Corporation, National Aluminium Company, Engineers India (special commendation). In the Institutional Category II (Miniratna I & II) the award was given to Mineral Exploration Corporation, ONGC Videsh and WAPCOS (special commendation). In the Institutional Category III  (Other Profit Making PSEs) the award was given to  Electronics Corporation of India whereas Goa Shipyard received the award in the Special Institutional (Turnaround) category.

The SCOPE Excellence Awards in the individual leadership category were given to Dr Anoop Kumar Mittal, CMD, NBCC; B. Ashok, chairman, IOCL; and  A.K. Jain, MD, RECIL and K.S. Popli, CMD, IREDA. Pooja Kapoor, head, Business Development, WAPCOS and Seema Gupta, ED, Power Grid (special commendation) received the award in the Outstanding Woman Manager in PSEs category.

SCOPE Meritorious Award for Environmental Excellence & Sustainable Development and Best Women Empowered Company were presented to Hindustan Petroleum Corporation. Meritorious Award for Corporate Governance was given to Power Finance Corporation, Hindustan Aeronautics and WAPCOS. NALCO received the Meritorious Award for Corporate Social Responsibility & Responsiveness while REIL received the Meritorious Award for R&D Technology Development & Innovation.

Meritorious Award for Best Practices in Human Resource Management was given to SAIL. Meritorious Award for Best Managed Bank, Financial Institution or Insurance Company was given to REC. Meritorious Award for RTI Act 2005 Compliance was given to GAIL and NTPC.

Pranab Mukherjee, president of India presented SCOPE Awards and addressed the top echelons of India’s economic policy makers, chief executives, directors and senior executives of public Sector Enterprises on the occasion of 8th Public Sector Day Celebrations. Anant Geete, union minister of HI&PE; Babul Supriyo, minister of state (HI&PE); Seema Bahuguna, secretary, DPE; Ved Prakash, chairman, SCOPE & CMD, MMTC; and Dr. U.D. Choubey, director general, SCOPE also addressed the gathering, while R.K. Bahuguna, vice chairman, SCOPE & CMD, RAILTEL was present on the dais.

Pranab Mukherjee said, “From only five PSEs with an investment of 29 crore, their growth over the years is very substantial. PSEs will continue to do well in future and meet new challenges and many glorious chapters will unfold in the future.”