Lok Sabha Elections 2024: UP gears up for fourth phase of polls in 13 constituencies, Akhilesh in race

Spread the love

Voting for the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh is set to take place on Monday, covering 13 parliamentary constituencies. Among the contested seats, the focus is particularly on the Kannauj seat, where SP president Akhilesh Yadav is seeking re-election, and Union Minister of State for Home Ajay Mishra Teni, who is contesting from Kheri.

The 13 constituencies where voting will occur include Shahjahanpur (SC), Kheri, Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Hardoi (SC), Misrikh (SC), Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah (SC), Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur, and Bahraich (SC), with a total of 130 candidates in the poll fray.

In Kannauj, Akhilesh Yadav faces competition from sitting BJP MP Subrat Pathak, while Unnao witnesses a showdown between incumbent BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj and SP’s Annu Tandon. Tandon, a former Lok Sabha MP from Unnao, contested against Sakshi Maharaj in previous elections but faced defeat.

Of the 13 parliamentary constituencies, the BJP has maintained confidence in 11 sitting MPs by granting them tickets. Notably, the party has introduced new candidates Ramesh Awasthi from Kanpur and Anand Kumar from Bahraich-SC.

In the opposition bloc, the SP has fielded candidates from 11 Lok Sabha seats, while the Congress is contesting on two seats – Kanpur and Sitapur.

Further, the fourth phase of polling will also determine the fate for four BJP candidates — Union minister Teni (Kheri), Rekha Verma (Dhaurahra), Mukesh Rajput (Farrukhabad) and Devendra Singh alias Bhole (Akbarpur) — are eyeing a hat trick. While, Rajesh Verma is eyeing a fifth term from Sitapur. Moreover, sitting MP from Hardoi (SC) Jai Prakash and incumbent from Unnao Sakshi Maharaj are eyeing a sixth term in the Lok Sabha.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress leader Rahul Gandhi have engaged in intense campaigning, with Modi criticizing the Congress and opposition alliance during his rallies.

Modi slammed the “dynastic politics” of the SP and Congress, highlighting his government’s focus on development. While, Rahul Gandhi emphasized the strength of the INDIA bloc in Uttar Pradesh and expressed confidence in a change of leadership.

(With inputs from PTI)

Related posts

Leave a Comment

49 − 40 =