Virat Kohli’s Record-breaking Performance Shines in IPL 2024 Encounter

Spread the love
  • Virat Kohli surpasses Chris Gayle and Shikhar Dhawan, equals Dhoni with his 77-run knock vs PBKS in IPL 2024.
  • Virat Kohli also registered his 100th fifty-plus score in T20 cricket
  • Virat Kohli donned the orange cap at the end of the sixth match thanks to his 77-run knock against Punjab Kings.
  • This turned out to be the 23rd fifty-plus score for Kohli in his IPL career while chasing going past Shikhar Dhawan.
  • David Warner is on top in this aspect 35 such scores in the second innings in the history of a cash-rich league.
  • KL Rahul is in fourth place having crossed the 50-run mark 21 times in IPL.
  • Kohli crossed the 70-run mark for the 27th time in IPL which is also a record as he went past Chris Gayle in this aspect.
  • Kohli also won the Player of the Match award for his match-winning knock against PBKS. It was his 17th award in IPL and levelled MS Dhoni in this aspect who has also won it 17 times so far.

In a stellar display of batting prowess, Virat Kohli propelled himself to the forefront of IPL 2024 with a commanding 77-run inning against the Punjab Kings, earning him the coveted orange cap. Kohli’s century of fifty-plus scores in the T20 format positions him as only the third player to achieve this milestone, marking a significant feat in his illustrious career.

Kohli’s innings not only secured victory for his team but also catapulted him past several eminent players in various records. His 23rd fifty-plus score while chasing in the IPL surpassed Shikhar Dhawan, with David Warner leading the pack with 35 such scores. Additionally, Kohli’s 27th instance of crossing the 70-run mark in IPL matches establishes a new record, overtaking the legendary Chris Gayle.

The accolades didn’t stop there for Kohli, as he clinched the Player of the Match award for his stellar performance against Punjab Kings. This marked his 17th such award in IPL history, placing him on par with the esteemed MS Dhoni. While AB de Villiers reigns supreme with 25 man-of-the-match awards, Kohli’s consistency and impact on the game are undeniable.

With each milestone, Kohli continues to etch his name in the annals of cricketing history, showcasing his unrivaled talent and unwavering determination on the field. As IPL 2024 unfolds, cricket enthusiasts eagerly anticipate further displays of Kohli’s mastery, as he strives to leave an indelible mark on the tournament.


(With inputs from agencies)

Related posts

Leave a Comment

79 − 71 =