Voting: People in UP’s Pilibhit Boycott Polls Over Local Issue, Officials Try to Pacify Voters”

Spread the love

The first phase of polling for 102 Lok Sabha seats across 21 states and Union territories began today, April 19, at 7 AM. The Election Commission of India has made all preparations to welcome voters to the biggest festival of democracy that any nation has witnessed. Over 18 lakh polling officials stand ready to facilitate the participation of more than 16.63 crore voters across 1.87 lakh polling stations. In the phase 1 polling, voters include 8.4 crore males, 8.23 crore females and 11,371 third-gender electors. Notably, 35.67 lakh first-time voters are registered to cast their ballots, alongside 3.51 crore young voters in the age group of 20-29 years. A total of 1,625 candidates, including 1,491 males and 134 females are in the fray.

The 2024 Lok Sabha elections will be held in seven phases, from April 19 to June 1, to elect the 543 members of the Lower House of Parliament. The results will be announced on June 4. The States and Union Territories where the elections will be held in the first phase are Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West Bengal, Andaman and Nicobar, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

(With inputs from agencies)

Related posts

Leave a Comment

31 − = 22