Scientist Sivan K to be the new chairman of ISRO


Renowned scientist Sivan K has been recently appointed as the new chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), in place of A.S. Kiran Kumar.


The announcement comes two days ahead of the proposed historic launch of the ISRO’s 100th satellite along with 30 others in a single mission from Sriharikota.


The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet approved Sivan’s appointment as Secretary, Department of Space and Chairman of Space Commission for a tenure of three years, according to an order issued by the Personnel Ministry.


Sivan graduated from Madras Institute of Technology in Aeronautical Engineering in 1980 and completed Master of Engineering in Aerospace engineering from IISc, Bangalore in 1982. Subsequently, he completed his Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from IIT, Bombay in 2006.


Sivan joined ISRO in 1982 in the Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV) project and has contributed immensely towards end-to-end mission planning, mission design, mission integration and analysis. He also held various responsible positions during his stint in ISRO.


He has also received various awards throughout his career which include Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai in April 2014 and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Research award in 1999.